top of page
Search
Writer's pictureShenglin Ye

Week 2 "Stressful Week"

"Develop habits for engaged reading"

In this week, what I found most helpful was actually that it helped me reviewed the citation in both APA and MLA. Because it has been half a year since last time I took writing class, I have already forgotten the difference between them. Besides, the step by step process that leading me to do engaged reading for essay is also very useful. By predicting the main idea at the beginning, I ensure myself to read with purpose: verifying my prediction. The step that asks me to ask questions is quite interesting to me. It did encourage me to read carefully and see if there are some points I am curious about. Although there is one point I do not agree with, it does give me some ideas connective with the video we summarized earlier.

While I read the essay, the most parts are really insightful and informative to me since I am not very familiar with the history of Disney animated films. One of the parts I choose to ask question is the last second paragraph saying "There is, however, an area of social concern that Disney has been reluctant to address: perpetuating an unrealistic standard of beauty through their alluring heroines at the height of sexual maturity" (Haas & Trapedo). I put "Why the characters in the animated film need to follow the realistic standard of beauty?" I am not sure if I misunderstand this part, but in my opinion, one main characteristic of animated film is unrealistic. I agree that Jean Kilbourne mentions about how media set up the standard for beauty in the society, but I thought that standard based on a real person instead of a animated character. Since I am not sure about if I understand that paragraph correctly, I just briefly summarize my initial thoughts above.



29 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Pre-Production Meeting Summary

Date and Time: 3 p.m. Feb 14th Roles and Responsibilities: Iris and Vivian are the co-hosts. Segment 1 would be Iris, Vivian, and Christy...

2 Comments


Pan Zhang
Pan Zhang
Jan 18, 2021

Hi, Shenglin ! I think about why the unrealistic animated film you put forward will affect reality. I think part of the reason is because animated movies originate from the creation of stories, and the images created are in line with the aesthetics of the creators. So to a certain extent it represents the aesthetics of the creator. At the same time, when children watch a movie, they will be affected by the movie. Recall that when I was a child, I liked to imitate heroes in movies.

Like

Kai Wen
Kai Wen
Jan 18, 2021

It's always good to review what we learnt before.

Like
bottom of page